Starting a chat with someone who changed their name capitalization can cause two windows to pop up.
One chat (Previous name) had a chat history with the new one (Name changed) was empty.
[image: i.imgur.com]
This is similar and relevant, clear your cache:
"f you change your name, the system does not go back and auto-update all the instances of the name occurrences in your older chats. The new name is shown for any new messages that you send. So yes, this is meant to happen.
The only glitch that can occur is some players may see two chat windows with your old name and one with your new name. If they clear their browser's cache, it will take away the duplicate chat window."
- CJ
We have a confirmed report on this here:
https://www.torn.com/forums.php#/p=threads&t=16086317
Thanks.