Skip to content
TORNLIFE More

New Account

Started by BarbieBanks [1716789] on in Questions & Answers.

5 replies · 146 views · thread synced · 6 days ago · View on torn.com
About this thread

Posts archived: 6 / 6 posts (100%) · the total is Torn's reply count + the opening post at the last fetch

Counted by TornLife from the archived posts.

Archived posts
6
Discussion span
→
People posting
6
Likes on archived posts
5
Authority score
57 / 100
Historical score
16 / 100
Story score
28 / 100
Engagement score
48 / 100
BarbieBanks [1716789]
Can I deactivate my current account (if that's a thing on this site) sometime this year and create a brand new one on Monday 1st January, 2024? 2024 will be my 30th year.

I don't want the new account to get banned for being multiple accounts.
Cheesus [505043] Wiki Contributor
It's not worth it, but to answer the question, yes. You can deactivate your account in Settings. Needs to be deleted for a week before you're allowed to start a new one.
Buda [2194089]
while yeah you can delete this account and start a new one... you can't keep your stuff or even have someone hold it for you

so unless you're trying to escape this account for some reason its really not optimal to restart
Penetration [2340613]
I understand you may have learned a lot and want to come back with a new account, applying all that knowledge to be an all-star. However, you lose what peogress you have thus far.

From someone who has restarted I can say that initial stat and financial grind is not enjoyable a second time around. Better off building from what you have.

Your reset date is interesting. If you're looking to see what you can do in a year, you can track your progress with an assortment of tools like yata and tornstats, among many others including discord bits most big factions now provide. So no need to rely on Torn's tracking itself.
Apathy [2728692]
sure you can..
if you plan to start on January 1 2024, you have to close your account here [1]..
you have to do it 2 (two) weeks or earlier..
which would be on or before December 18, 2023

like what had been mentioned, you can't transfer money or items from 1 account to another..
other important things would be..
  • you can't have access to both accounts at the same time.. never open this one once you restart.. you have to close your new account first if you decide to go back to this one
  • if you are going to ask a friend to keep an item for you.. you can buy it off them at its current market value with the hard-earned cash from your new account.. if you just want them to send it to you because you think it still belongs to you, you're putting their accounts at risk of middlemanning
  • if you start the account closure process, then realized you forgot something, you can open it again.. but you will have to wait another 24 hours to start the account closure.. make sure you have your things in order before the given date..
  • if you're going to be a subscriber before deletion, be sure to tell bogie beforehand so your subscription from your current account will be terminated upon your account deletion
  • someone made a guide about restarting here [2]
links:
1. https://www.torn.com/preferences.php#tab=accountClosure
2. https://www.torn.com/forums.php#/p=threads&f=61&t=16243069&b=0&a=0&start=0&to=21807719

Mentions: How to restart (and reinstate) properly